The Dead Sea Scrolls Foundation's Organization

Board of Directors >>
Board of Advisors >>

Board of Directors

The Board of Directors of the Dead Sea Scrolls Foundation is made up mainly of prominent Dead Sea Scrolls Scholars, many from the first generation of scrolls discovery, research, and publication. They oversee the general operation of the Foundation through a Chairperson and an Executive Director, both of whom are also members of the board. The Directors meet each year during the Annual Meeting of the Society of Biblical Literature.

The Members of the Board of Directors are:

  • Prof. Martin Abegg, Jr.,Trinity Western University, Langley, BC
  • Prof. George Brooke, University of Manchester
  • Dr. Weston W. Fields, Executive Director
  • Prof. Joseph A. Fitzmyer, Catholic University of America, Emeritus
  • Prof. Florentino García Martínez, University of Leuven
  • Prof. Robert A. Kraft, University of Pennsylvania
  • Prof. Jodi Magness, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
  • Prof. Carol Meyers, Duke University
  • Prof. Shalom Paul, Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Chairperson
  • Prof. James A. Sanders, President Emeritus, The Ancient Biblical Manuscript Center, Claremont
  • Prof. Larry Schiffman, New York University
  • Prof. Eibert Tigchelaar, University of Leuven, editor of the new series, Dead Sea Scrolls Editions
  • Prof. Emanuel Tov, Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Editor in chief, Emeritus, DJD
  • Prof. Eugene Ulrich, University of Notre Dame
  • Prof. James C. VanderKam, University of Notre Dame

Back to top

Board Of Advisors

The Board of Advisors consists of a wider group of scholars and non-scholars from around the world who advise the Board of Directors and especially the Executive Director. This Board also meets each year during the Annual Meeting of the Society of Biblical Literature. The members of the Board of Advisors are:


  • Prof. Philip S. Alexander, University of Manchester
  • Prof. Torleif Elgvin, Lutheran Theological Seminary, Oslo
  • Mr. Martin Schøyen, Oslo, Norway
  • Prof. Julio Trebolle Barrera, Universidad Complutense, Madrid
  • Prof. Geza Vermes, FBA, Oxford Centre for Hebrew and Jewish Studies
  • Prof. Eibert Tigchelaar, University of Leuven, editor Dead Sea Scrolls Editions
  • Prof. Devorah Dimant, University of Haifa
  • Prof. Seymour Gitin, Director, W.F. Albright Institute of Archaeological Research,Jerusalem
  • M. l’Abbé Emile Puech, Ecole Biblique et Archéologique Française, Jerusalem
  • Rev. Père Marcel Sigrist, Director, Ecole Biblique et Archéologique Française, Jerusalem

United States and Canada

  • Dr. Alan C. Ashton, Cofounder, WordPerfect Corporation, Orem, UT
  • Mr. Grant L. Cannon, WestCorp, Inc., Salt Lake City, UT
  • Prof. James H. Charlesworth, Princeton Theological Seminary
  • Prof. Peter Flint, Trinity Western University, Langley, BC
  • Dr. Marilyn Lundberg, West Semitic Research; Fuller Theological Seminary
  • Prof. Eric M. Meyers, Duke University, Duke University
  • Prof. Donald Parry, Brigham Young University
  • Prof. Alison Schofield, University of Denver
  • Prof. Bruce Zuckerman, University of Southern California; West Semitic Research

Back to top


Copyright Dead Sea Scrolls Foundation